Contact information:
Volkmar Frinken

Date and Location:
August 24, 2013
Washington DC, USA

Endorsed by the IAPR

Proceedings will be published in the ACM Digital Library

FamilySearch Sponsored by
2nd International Workshop on Historical Imaging and Processing

Workshop on Historical Document Imaging and Processing 2013

The workshop is over

The workshop was held in conjunction with ICDAR 2013 in the Omni Shoreham Hotel in Washington DC, USA. All in all it was a huge success with 65 registered participants. We thank everyone who has contributed to this event. Some photos taken during the pre-conference tour to the National Archives and the FamilySearch sponsored dinner afterwards can be found here.

IAPR Best Paper Award

We have awarded the best paper among all accepted submissions with an IAPR Best Paper Award.

Call for Papers

The topics addressed in this workshop are manifold and cover the entire chain from image acquisition to information extraction as well as overviews of entire projects. A detailed list can be found here.
The Call for Papers can be downloaded here.

Registration and IAPR Discount

Please register through the ICDAR 2013 website.
The registration fee of the workshop is 60$ for IAPR members and 65$ for everybody else. Due to technical reasons, however, the IAPR discount can not be granted during the registration process. Instead, IAPR members will receive a 5$ reimbursement at the Workshop.

New Competition on Clustering of Images of Historical Marriage Licenses

We are happy to get FamilySearch involved as a sponsor. FamilySearch is a non-profit organization that promotes genealogical research worldwide and gathers and publishes large amounts of historical documents online.

For this workshop, FamilySearch organizes an independent competition on image clustering of historical marriage licenses according to keyword appearing in the images.

Key dates for this competition are:
June 1, 2013: 10K training images and data will be made available
August 1, 2013: Test images will be made available
August 7, 2013: Evaluation results are due

Workshop Dates

June 1, 2013: Paper submission
July 3, 2013: Decision notification.
July 19, 2013: Final paper submission.
August 24, 2013: Workshop


General Chairs

Volkmar Frinken, Spain Bill Barrett, USA
Volker Märgner, Germany R. Manmatha, USA

Best Paper Award Committee

Volkmar Frinken, Spain Bill Barrett, USA
Volker Märgner, Germany R. Manmatha, USA

Program Committee

Apostolos Antonacopoulos, UK
Michael Blumenstein, Australia
Michael Brown, Singapore
Mohamed Cheriet, Canada
David Doermann, USA
Xiaoqing Ding, China
Andreas Fischer, Canada
Basilis Gatos, Greece
Jake Gehring, USA
Venu Govindaraju, USA
Rolf Ingold, Switzerland
LianWen Jin, China
George Landon, USA
Rafael Lins, Brazil
Cheng-Lin Liu, China
Josep Lladós, Spain
Shijian Lu, Singapore
Simone Marinai, Italy
Masaki Nakagawa, Japan
Heath Nielson, USA
Liangrui Peng, China
Alexandra Psarrou, UK
Eric Ringger, USA
Jose Rodriguez-Serrano, France
Pramod Sankar, India
Chew Lim Tan, Singapore
Kengo Terasawa, Japan
Enrique Vidal, Spain
Muriel Visani, France
Fredrik Wahlberg, Sweden
Eugene Walach, Israel